Lacy J. Dalton – Lacy J. Dalton Highway Diner Blue Eyed Blues (197919861987)

Artist:Lacy J. Dalton
title:Lacy J. Dalton / Highway Diner / Blue Eyed Blues
Year Of Release:1979/1986/1987
Label:Sony Music
Total Time:67:53
Total Size:539 MB
WebSite:Album Preview 18:23

Lacy J. Dalton – Lacy J. Dalton Highway Diner Blue Eyed Blues (197919861987)
14 Days Free Access to USENET!
Free 300 GB with Full DSL-Broadband Speed!
1. Crazy Blue Eyes (2:54)
2. High Like An Angel (2:29)
3. Honky Tonk Man (2:45)
4. Carolina Come On (2:29)
5. Beer Drinkin’ Song (2:43)
6. Tennessee Waltz (3:04)
7. Late Night Kind Of Lonesome (2:33)
8. Losing Kind Of Love (3:11)
9. Are There Any Cowboys Left (3:15)
10. Turn My Head Around (3:08)
1. Working Class Man (3:15)
2. Twelve O Five (4:14)
3. Changing All The Time (3:42)
4. Takin’ It All In Stride (4:38)
5. Can’t See Me Without You (3:46)
6. This Ol’ Town (3:45)
7. Up With The Wind (5:28)
8. Boomtown (3:06)
9. Gone Again (3:11)
10. Closing Time (3:46)
1. Have I Got A Heart For You (2:13)
2. It’s A Dirty Job (With Bobby Bare) (2:56)
3. Blue-Eyed Blues (3:11)
4. That’s Good – That’s Bad (With George Jones) (3:02)
5. Gotta Serve Somebody (With David Allan Coe) (4:19)
6. I’ll Love Them Whatever They Are (2:22)
7. Hillbilly Girl With The Blues (2:36)
8. 16th Avenue (3:07)
9. My Old Yellow Car (3:27)
10. Love Gone Cold (With Earl Scruggs) (3:30)
Eclectic and bluesy, Lacy J. Dalton was one of the most distinctive female country singers of the ’80s, landing a few hits on the strength of her gritty, nuanced vocals. Dalton was born Jill Byrem in Bloomsburg, PA, in 1948 and grew up in a highly musical family; her first loves were folkies like Bob Dylan and Joan Baez, but she also soaked up country music through her father. She briefly attended Brigham Young University but dropped out and drifted around the country for a time; she eventually went to Los Angeles, then migrated to Santa Cruz, where she performed as a protest-oriented folksinger. During the late ’60s, she sang with a Bay Area psychedelic rock band called Office; she also became Jill Croston when she married the group’s manager, though, sadly, he died in a swimming pool accident. She went on to reinvent herself as a country performer, adopting the stage name Lacy J. Dalton, and landed a deal with CBS when producer Billy Sherrill heard her demo tape in 1979. Her Top 20 debut single, “Crazy Blue Eyes,” helped her win the CMA’s Best New Artist Award, and she scored an impressive run of hits over the next three years, highlighted by “Hard Times,” “Tennessee Waltz,” “Hillbilly Girl with the Blues,” the number two smash “Takin’ It Easy,” “16th Avenue,” and “Everybody Makes Mistakes” (all but “Tennessee Waltz” made the Top Ten). Dalton’s albums also received strong reviews for their adventurous, borderless taste in material, particularly her self-titled debut. A 1983 cover of Roy Orbison’s “Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)” was her final Top Ten entry, but she continued to record for CBS through 1987; part of her commercial slide was due to her ambitious stylistic shifts, as she devoted attention to rock-oriented material (1986’s Highway Diner, whose “Working Class Man” was a decent-sized hit), blues, and bluegrass. She subsequently departed for Capitol, where she recorded four albums through 1992. In 1999, she assembled the Wild Horse Crossing compilation, which featured several new tracks of her own and was released by her own Let ‘Em Run foundation, which worked to preserve the wild horses of the west.



View all contributions by

Contact us :

Fill in your information

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment